About the Awards

This is the fourth year of the awards and we would like to take this opportunity to thank our awards sponsors.

All Party Group

These awards seek to recognise and celebrate the various different ways which people have contributed to international development across this region, and to acknowledge the efforts of those leading the way in the field.

We are inviting nominations from all sectors for nine awards categories:

New categories are as follows:

  • Best Primary School Project
  • Best Secondary School Project
  • Outstanding Young Person
  • Outstanding Academic Study in Development
  • Best Community Initiative in Development
  • Best Voluntary Contribution / Outstanding Volunteer
  • Best NGO Campaign
  • Best Corporate Social Responsibility Project
  • Lifetime Achievement Award

What is the All Party Group on International Development?

The All Party Group was established by Carmel Hanna in 2001, and was set-up as a forum for political representatives from all parties to discuss issues relating to International Development.

In 2011, the group launched a strategy which was consequently adopted by the Northern Ireland Assembly, which sought to develop a technical assistance programme with a region in North East Uganda. They have since met with both the British and Irish Ministers responsible for development in order to progress the project alongside work which is already on-going through the Department for International Development (DfID) and Irish Aid.

A working group with the Office of the First and Deputy First Minister was set up at the end of 2012, and is working to develop a Terms of Reference for a scoping trip to the programme region, with the aim of implementing a regional strategy in the not too distant future.

As international development remains a reserved matter with Westminster, the All Party Group have been working alongside DfID in order to develop a way in which a regional contribution could be established, which recognises the contribution which so many people from Northern Ireland make to the developing world, in so many different ways.

The membership of the APGID is as follows:

Chair: Jim Wells MLA
Vice Chair: Anna Lo MLA
Treasurer: Chris Lyttle MLA


Steven Agnew, Green
Stewart Dickson, Alliance
David Ford, Alliance
Anna Lo, Alliance
Chris Lyttle, Alliance
John McCallister, Ind
Basil McCrea, Ind
Pat Sheehan, Sinn Fein
Jennifer McCann, Sinn Fein
Karen McKevitt, SDLP
John Dallat, SDLP
Robin Swann, UUP
Jim Wells, DUP
David Mcilveen, DUP

If you would like more information on the awards, or would like to register your interest in attending the event please email Austin Orr at info@apgidawards.com, or call 028 90 521110, Please do not leave a voicemail.

Please note places are very limited so we will allocate seats on a first-come-first-serve basis.

For terms and conditions, please click here.

British Council Northern Ireland
VSO logo